President Ramaphosa announces cabinet reshuffle

President names new NDPP

President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced the much-anticipated cabinet reshuffle. He announced new home affairs, environmental affairs and communications ministers on Thursday. The replacements in the cabinet for Edna Molewa who passed away and Malusi Gigaba who resigned.

Siyabonga Cwele will take over at Home Affairs.

Nomvula Mokonyane, who was at Communications, will take over at Environmental Affairs.

Stella Ndabeni Abrahams will run the merged ministries of Communications and Telecommunications and Postal Services.

Ramaphosa says the changes reflect his efforts at renewal in South Africa.

He also announced the resignation of deputy minister of energy Thembi Majola, with effect from next year. He said she was leaving for personal and family reasons.

Questions were not allowed following the announcement, as it was “ceremonial” in nature. The new ministers were immediately sworn in.

Exit mobile version